Andrew Lord Wins EIHL Coach of the Year

Andrew Lord Wins EIHL Coach of the Year

Joey Martin won the Elite League Forward of the Year for the second straight season after leading the Devils in scoring for the third year in a row.

For the second year in a row, Ben Bowns won the Netminder of the Year after posting the lowest goals against average in league play (2.36 GAA), winning 33 of his 46 games played and finishing with a 91.2% save percentage in league action.

Andrew Lord was the runaway winner of Coach of the Year after leading the Devils to their first league title in 20 years, winning the Challenge Cup and winning the Erhardt Conference in only his third season in charge of the Devils.

Finally, Andrew Hotham cleaned up with two awards; first picking up the Elite League’s Defenceman of the Year for the third straight season after leading all defenders in points for the third time and tying Joey Martin as the Devils leading scorer in league action.

Hotham also won the Elite League Player of the Year for the first time.  in 63 games this season, Hotham has 16 goals and 54 assists for 70 points overall.  He is the only defenceman to crack the top ten scoring list in all games played and along with his impressive offensive output, he is as solid as they come on defence and leads the Devils in minutes played this season.

The only other major award handed out on Saturday was the Elite League British Player of the Year, which was awarded to Colin Shields of the Belfast Giants. The awards were presented by British Ice Hockey Hall of Fame member Freddie Meredith and his wife Anna.